

Motion No. M2020-80

A motion of the Board of the Central Puget Sound Regional Transit Authority electing the Sound Transit Board Chair and two Vice Chairs for a one-year term each, beginning January 1, 2021 and ending December 31, 2021.

Background

The terms of Kent Keel, the current Chair, and Dow Constantine and Paul Roberts, the current Vice Chairs of the Sound Transit Board expire on December 31, 2020.

The Board's Rules and Operating Procedures, adopted in Resolution No. R2018-45 state that the Board chair and vice chairs must all be from different counties and serve two-year terms that coincide with calendar years. The Executive Committee must develop recommendations to the Board for the selection of Board chairs and vice chairs when those terms are expiring. The recommendations are brought as nominations to the Board at a regularly scheduled meeting before the terms expire.

On December 10, 2020, the Executive Committee nominated Pierce County Boardmember Kent Keel as Board Chair, and King County Boardmember Dow Constantine and Snohomish County Boardmember Paul Roberts as Vice Chairs.

Motion

It is hereby moved by the Board of the Central Puget Sound Regional Transit Authority that Kent Keel from Pierce County be elected Board Chair, Dow Constantine from King County be elected Vice Chair and Paul Roberts from Snohomish County be elected Vice Chair for a one-year term, effective January 1, 2021 and ending December 31, 2021.

APPROVED by the Board of the Central Puget Sound Regional Transit Authority at a regular meeting thereof held on December 17, 2020.

Kent Keel Board Chair

Attest:

Kathryn Flores Board Administrator